Law Society NT Logo
Law Society NT Logo
  • Home
  • About
  • News
  • Dedicated refugee lawyer announced NT Young Australian of the Year

Dedicated refugee lawyer announced NT Young Australian of the Year

Law Society Northern Territory (Society) congratulates Kevin Kadirgamar on being awarded NT Young Australian of the Year on Wednesday evening.

Society President Maria Savvas said, “Mr Kardirgamar’s dedication to advancing the interests of the some of the most vulnerable people in our community is to be commended and this accolade is a welcome acknowledgement of his important contribution.”

Mr Kadirgamar is a young lawyer who graduated from Charles Darwin University and practices in migration and refugee law. Ms Savvas said, “This is not the first occasion on which Mr Kardirgamar’s commitment has been acknowledged. He was awarded the 2015 Young Lawyer of the Year by the Law Council of Australia in recognition of his extraordinary efforts in helping asylum seekers.”

Mr Kadirgamar has been actively involved in Darwin’s diverse community, establishing a youth leadership organisation and as an active member of a number of human rights and youth justice advisory boards. Mr Kadirgamar’s support to the multicultural community was recognised in 2012 when he was named a People of Australia Ambassador for the Australian Multicultrual Council.

“The Society applauds Mr Kadirgamar on winning this prestigious award which recognises his inspiring achievements and involvement in the Territory community”, Ms Savvas said.


Contact person: Ms Maria Savvas


Click here to view the media release

Office details

Office: 3/6 Lindsay St. Darwin NT 0800
Post: GPO Box 2388 Darwin NT 0801
ABN: 62 208 314 893


Please note that the Society does not offer legal advice.

A list of lawyers can be found here.

Telephone: (08) 8981 5104